seocnesse

is the Old English root of “sickness”.  I’ve been seoc for a week, with a nasty head and chest cold, and to keep from blaming the little kids I work with for poisoning me (on my first day at the school!) I wrote a limerick:

Three year old children do not,

clean off  their faces of snot,

nor wash their hands much,

to this whisky I’ll clutch,

having caught all their germs in one shot.

 

 

 

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to seocnesse

  1. Joan Virgil says:

    Cute limerick. My usual word of caution: Be careful who you give your blog info to. School(s) might not react the way you’d expect. It’s a hazard of the profession (exposure to germs), especially with the younger kids, so be prepared for more colds this winter 🙂

    Hope you’re feeling better today, and sorry Steve is now the recipient of your cold. It’s been 12 days and counting for me, and I still have some residual effects (coughing, mainly). So far, no one has caught it from me that I’m aware of.

    FYI, I don’t think Dad receives your blog postings. I forward them to him, though. You might want to include Dad in your distributions.

    Feel better! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

