old year new year

Tonight is new year’s eve; I’ll be washing several hundred dishes and scrubbing many giant pots and pans.  The parking lot outside the lodge is filling up with cars, bringing people to the banquet where I will be washing dishes.  It’s part of my job; everyone has to wash dishes two or three times a week.  But the dinner shifts are the worst, they’re the most work when you’re already exhausted; tonight I’m dedicating my shift to everyone everywhere working tonight and tomorrow (banquets are way worse than regular dinners too).  If this sounds a little like a post I wrote last week, when I washed dishes on Christmas, um, sorry.

In the new year I resolve to wash fewer dishes and be less grumpy about them.  What’s your resolution? Do you make them? I don’t, other than joke ones like the one I just made; they’re so easily broken.  I find it more rewarding to meditate every day; this practice gently makes me kinder and more compassionate.  Much better than making a bunch of impossible declarations one day a year, and inevitably giving up on them by February first.

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to old year new year

  1. Joan Pinkham Virgil says:

    Definitely not the most fun activity for New Year’s Eve. Hope you had lots of help with the dishes, and keep up the daily meditation 🙂

Leave a Reply

