past, present

February is usually the worst month of the year for me.  2013 is no exception.  Since I went off antidepressants, I am ten times more affected by bad weather, and it’s been snowing for several days now, very gray.  Cartoons and beer aid my survival.  But only cartoons from the past.  In the last seven days I have watched a Star Trek cartoon (pure camp), Speed Racer, Garfield, Milton the Monster, Space Ghost, The Snorks, Wacky Races, and Rocky & Bullwinkle.   Are any of those cartoons not campy? Speed Racer is too clean to be camp, too well done; the Japanese lead the world in their understanding of lines and faces.

Except for The Milton the Monster Show, which is new to me but dates back to the early 1960’s, I’ve watched all of these before.  The gluttonous Garfield I was somewhat obsessed with, from 1987-89, and I’ve heard other kids were too.  Possibly because he was allowed to eat whatever he wanted and continually made adults look bad.  In the present, watching this goofy cartoon I actually remember lines and whole scenes from the first time I saw them, on some Saturday morning in 1988.  A strange sensation.

Sometimes I try to line up whatever cartoon I’m watching with the legal article I’m working on (legal pieces are depressing, cartoons negate the sadness).  I watch Wacky Races when writing about car accidents, Milton the Monster for debt collectors (he’s like a friendly, dimwitted Frankenstein), Space Ghost for criminal negligence—he’s like a cosmic white knight, fighting off rock monsters and slimy alien overlords.   This is all I’m going to write about cartoons; I feel slightly ridiculous having gone this far.  Time for a beer and an hour of harmless nostalgia.

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

