several layers of reality

There are as many as the mind can think of, all separate universes that occasionally interact.  Here I will talk about two:

1. the internet and the information traded on it and
2. the physical world

The internet seems like a separate reality sometimes.  It’s a place without place, accessible only with machines.  Close your laptop, the internet is gone, but not really, because billions of other computers are still generating it, propelling it.  The information that passes over the internet has weight: .0004 microns in 2009.  Passes through tubes and wires, powered by massive amounts of energy.  The internet was created as a way for scientists to exchange data; various governments started using it, and eventually, businesses, then everyone else.  This is how most technology seems to spread.

The face I have made in this fast, energy draining world is not exactly the one I intended to make.  When you google my name, a photo from a few years ago appears first; I was forty pounds heavier then.  But I don’t mind the world seeing that photo, it was a good day and I’m smiling–it’s just not all that accurate any more, and I don’t know how to change it.  Communicating on the internet, whether it’s sending an email or selling a book on Scamazon (piece on my horrible time there forthcoming) is hard for me, and I frequently misspeak.  There’s a difficult balance to finding a voice that rings true over hundreds of different forums.  We use words and images, even sounds, to craft a face.  (Do we send out more images than words? Or just more varied images than words?)  Grammar and punctuation have been sacrificed to speed; I’m guilty of this too, in some forms.  Raggedy shotgun ann is the exception; this is my 200th blog post, and writing here has always been easy.  I’ve kept this blog for over two years, and am deeply grateful for everyone who’s ever read it.

And the physical world.  When I started writing this post four hours ago I had a whole list of thoughts on tangible matter; time elapsed, I left the RV and went out into the world, not very far, and then everything I thought about physicality felt hollow.  Will return to the writing about physical world (with keystrokes, not pen and ink) in coming days.

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to several layers of reality

  1. Pingback: several layers of reality « raggedy shotgun ann

  2. Bill says:

    ,0004 microns? Isn’t that very close to the weight of your soul? No, I’m wrong. The soul is heavier–21 grams.

    • emvlovely says:

      Bill, thanks for reading my blog, such a happy surprise to see your name. .0004 came from the Harper’s index a while ago. 21 grams was an excellent movie, little freaky, if memory serves.

Leave a Reply

