DP writing prompt

the prompt: “Write about the most precious thing you’ve ever lost.”

This will require a lot of recollecting, since I’ve lost hundreds of precious things (and thoughts, and people I knew for a time). So I’ll answer this questions in three ways.

1. The most precious physical thing that I ever lost wasn’t mine to begin with. When I was five or six, I begged my mother to let me play out in the yard wearing her sapphire ring, a family heirloom, and she let me.  Ten minutes later it was lost forever.  The guilt of this episode haunts me still and I hope someday to either find this ring or buy my mother something almost as pretty.

2.  The most precious intangible thing I ever lost was the ability to suspend disbelief.  Some might call this innocence.  A world without solid boundaries, where every experience was new and unpredictable. There was no qualitative  judgment when I drew a picture then, just a story that needed telling.

3. And last, thing, in the sense of “personality trait, hang-up:” I once had a thing about always putting away things neatly, crayons for example.  Books, pencils, shoes, seeds—I was fastidious once, and now I’m something of a disorganizado, to coin a phrase.  Living in an RV with a very neat, orderly, patient man, my chaotic tendencies are magnified a thousandfold. I want the neatness thing back, and will work to catch it.

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DP writing prompt

  1. Joanie says:

    I’m surprised you still remember the sapphire ring episode, and even more surprised that it haunts you to this day. Well, I’ve gotten over it and it’s time you let it go, too! I’ve since replaced the ring and haven’t thought about the original one in a very long time…

Leave a Reply

