year of the Dragon

Happy Chinese new year.  The year of the Dragon (the water dragon) feels auspicious.  First things first, a list of things I’m grateful for:

Good people are everywhere.  A very nice lady I met the other day explained the application process for substitute teaching in our local school district (she substitutes now, as she’s also between jobs), and I just finished re-applying.  Somehow I missed the crucial part about attending an orientation when I applied almost a year ago. I also applied for two secretarial jobs in the district; everyone, please cross your fingers for me.

Despite having no health insurance, I have access to affordable medicine and qualified doctors and health care professionals.  This doesn’t happen everywhere.  Whole swaths of our nation are without walk-in clinics, or even clean hospitals; and yet, Republicans still want to overturn Obamacare.

I’m grateful I have a corner with books and a comfortable chair to rest, read, and fill out  job applications in. It makes the first two even better, and the last one tolerable.

Having a bathtub in our apartment. Living in a place where there’s free yoga and food stamps.  All of these keep me healthy.

And, I’m very grateful the dandelion wine I made last May came out pretty well.

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

