first days of the year

As for the cleaning out and de-cluttering, it went well in New York state, less so in Colorado.  I brought back a fat suitcase full of the most random collection of stuff found in any suitcase traveling across America that day.  I wonder what the TSA officer thought,pulling a cordless drill out from inside a stack of thirty to eighty year old newspapers and magazines.  I also crammed in a couple bottles of wine, Christmas candy, kitty treats, an elephant tape measure from at least 1950, several old books, and a stack of vinyl records.  These records, pulled from five full boxes of records (mostly all the others were sold or donated) returned with me:

Revolver – the Beatles
Rubber Soul – the Beatles
Close to the Edge – Yes
Little Creatures – Talking Heads
Night & Day – Joe Jackson
The Legend of Sleepy Hollow (purely for the sweet cover, a frozen cell from Walt Disney’s animation of the tale)
Mind Games – John Lennon

and 2 early B-52 records.  That’s all the vinyl I could carry without making the suitcase weigh more than the allowable fifty pounds; I had to leave some dear vinyl friends behind. What was the theme of this post? Cleaning house at the start of 2012? Well, I just settled a medical bill that was about to go to a collection agency, that counts as housekeeping.   Also, I’m writing on my blog, which desperately needs cleaning up.  Look for more and better posts in coming days (as in, better than just a list of things that flew two thousand miles with me).

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to first days of the year

  1. T-Bone says:

    Yes… nice! Was just thinking about that band. They must sound amazing on vinyl. What were some that you parted with?

    And don’t worry about updating your blog more often; I’m quitting mine! Will be nice to get rid of it…

Leave a Reply

