last days of the year

are often difficult for me to make decent use of.  This year I am making a robust effort to clean out old closets and donate their contents (I mean actual physical closets, not metaphorical ones).  It’s a bigger job than I expected.  No matter how forgotten an old book is to me, and even if I was never all that fond of it ten years ago, there’s still an emotional attachment, and I must find it a good home.  As used book stores are trying to reduce their inventories for the year’s end, this isn’t easy.

Donating and selling old clothes is a little strange, as most of the clothes I’m letting go of seem to belong to someone else; they’re six sizes bigger and meant for an executive secretary.  In other words, what I used to be.  The culmination of all this cleaning out will be a bonfire on New Year’s Eve.  I have quite a few old notebooks and paintings that just have no place anymore, and need a proper sending off.  A big fire at year’s end has been a human ritual for a long time, and it makes a lot of sense.  I’ll write again after the new year, with notes on how this project turned out.

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to last days of the year

  1. Paul Cashman says:

    Re getting rid of books: I do (or try to do) lots of business at used bookstores, and in the last 2-3 years I’ve noticed that the prices they pay — when they buy back a book at all — have dropped. This is due to the Internet (what else?). They look up the book on Alibris or some other site and that sets the price. I used to donate only my distressed books to library sales, but now a high percentage of books that, just a few years ago, would have been taken by used bookstores, go there. Check the libraries in your area; probably a number of them will take your books now for their annual sale in the summer. It’s not as good as having cash or a bookstore credit, but hopefully someone will pick up the books you donate. And of they don’t get sold there, they end up going to prison libraries or abroad.

  2. Joan Virgil says:

    This is a great time of year to de-clutter and simplify – a way to begin the New Year with a clean slate, and possibly help others in need in the process. In the winter months of January and February, there is more time to sort through belongings and arrange for disposing of them. As for the bonfire, maybe next year!

Leave a Reply

