thankfulness

Although I’m not much on Thanksgiving, the history or the cuisine, I like its inherent reminder to count our blessings.  (Which must have come later; I can’t imagine the Pilgrims and the Wampanoags were thinking about giving thanks; that first American harvest party was a political meeting).

Here is what I’m most thankful for:

Having enough to eat, and getting to eat mostly what I like, and very healthy food. It keeps my mind and body strong.

Living in a place where the sun shines most days of the year.

Loving and being loved, such a gift.

Being able to write and draw, whether or not I’m any good at it; the freedom and joy of creative fire is liberating.

I’m thankful the 99% are gradually (and some of us, immediately) getting up, standing up.

Thankful I have seen some of the world. Not enough to feel worldly but enough to not feel provincial. I thank my parents for this.

Gratitude for my drum and guitar; they have great dun, the power of certain objects.

And I am thankful that I learned forgiveness early in life, and am learning to reject materialism; this takes longer, for some reason.

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to thankfulness

  1. Pingback: 102 Reasons To Be Thankful | this man's journey

  2. Joan Pinkham Virgil says:

    All good thoughts. . . thankfulness/ counting our blessings is a great topic to consider, and much better to focus on than negative thoughts. I’d add thankfulness for amazing family, pets, animals in general, good friends, and the incredible natural beauty surrounding us every day. So many other things, too – the list could be endless.

    Since when was the first Thanksgiving a political meeting? Unless they’ve changed the history books since antiquity/when I was in school (or I took your comment seriously & shouldn’t have), the Pilgrims shared a feast in the fall of 1621 with the Wampanoag to celebrate the colony’s first successful harvest. Seems like they must have been thankful!

Leave a Reply

