coats

I can’t stop thinking about them.  I’ve been sick for a week and wish I had a grand, heavy and vaguely magic overcoat.  So much so that I just made an offer on a long ivory wool coat at some sketchy ebay store, still more than I can afford but if I win it it’ll be a success.  At least then I’ll stop looking for miracles at every thrift store and dreaming about antique buttons.  Here are a few more coats:

Detective trenchcoats, black widow mink, threadbare third hand polo ralph lauren in the third world, wool sherpa protection against the wind, doctors’ white coats, judges’ robes, ratty technicolor dreamcoat from a high school theater club, yellow raincoats with red galoshes, all color puffy coats riding together in subway cars, green peacoat that was someone’s grandmother’s once, itchy weird material winter coat smelling like mothballs, garbage bag ponchos in a flash flood, the most beat-up worn out chain-rattling old leather biker jacket, lady’s long red wool coat with a holly bough brooch, camel-hair with a silk handkerchief in the lapel pocket and a green bay packers parka.

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to coats

  1. I’ve always imagined a coat made from animal skins that were entrusted to me by the animals I’ll meet before they die. The coat will thus be a patchwork from all the world encompassing a little of the magick from each spirit animal.

Leave a Reply

