WordPress interview #3

WordPress: Write a story by finishing this sentence. The story can be as long or short as you wish.
“I told him where I was going, and he hurried me out, pointing to the door with the gun, but what he didn’t know was…

Erin Virgil: ..that underneath this mask of his brother’s face, I was still his sworn enemy. He’d handed over the briefcase and waved me out the door with his gun, said he’d see me later, we’d drink to a job well done.”

WP: What’s one “luxury” you refuse to live without?

EV: Nintendo Wii.  It’s like the mac of video gaming systems; easy to understand, appealing & friendly colors and shapes, just good fun.  Mario Kart is a nearly mainstream cult activity, and I am a card-carrying cult member.

EV: What do the movies “Night of the Hunter” and “Parts: the Clonus Horror” have in common?

WP: Dunno.

EV: Peter Graves.

WP: Is revolution always good?

EV: Yes, if it’s possible to separate the concepts “good and evil” from “peace and violence”.  Sometimes violent change is neither good nor bad but necessary for the survival of a people.  If they’ve been lied to, overworked, underpaid, ignored by the leaders they elected, patronized and robbed of their basic rights as citizens by the leaders they elected, forced to watch their neighborhoods and the whole earth suffer from fire, floods and droughts in the name of capitalism at its zenith, then change, of any kind, is welcome.  (I’m pretty sure I’ve been a “person of interest” to the CIA for a while now, but this blog just made it official).

WP: how much debt is too much?

EV: I hate questions like this.  “Debt” is no longer black and white, there’s a lot of grey in capitalist debt.  If you don’t have health insurance and you have a heart attack, you’re going to face some serious debt after, but, as the United States is the last civilized western society not to provide for all its citizens with universal health care, is all that debt your fault?  And student loan debt, like mine: when will the business of higher education stop charging the equivalent of a new house for a college education?  In Europe, college is subsidized and highly regulated by governments; no one graduates already in debt.  All that said, I’m still considering going back to school to be an art teacher, and adding a dozen or fifteen more grand to my bulging landslide of student loans, currently in poverty deferment.

WP: What story can you write in six words?

EV:  They’ll never find my Siamese twin.

WP:  Any closing remarks?

EV: I’m still watching “Night of the Hunter” while writing this; it’s one of the creepiest, most striking black and white movies evah.  But why are burning torches in black and white movies automatically creepy?

WP:  —

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

