In which I am interviewed by old wordpress prompts

Word Press: Do you believe in the devil?

Erin Virgil:  The short answer is yes.  I’ve gone back and forth on this question for a long time.  Sometimes I think that there’s so much evil in the world, how could one individual be the epicenter, the Most Evil? But lately I’ve begun to feel like yes, all roots lead back to the tree and it is possible that somewhere in a bar in the subtropics, sipping a rum and coke and chatting up the waitress, lives the Prince of Darkness.

WP: Have you ever considered writing a book?

EV:  Yes, and I’m still considering it.  I started my novel, Flood, over ten years ago.  It was my senior thesis at Barnard; if three people have read it, that’s a lot.  I’ve kept it so close, worked on it so long at times and then other times not at all; it has begun to feel like a lost child.  Something fragile and perpetually hidden.  I want to hold the manuscript close and remember how it felt ten years ago, the loose skeleton of what it is now.

WP: Would Donald Trump make a good President?

EV: No.

WP: Is nuclear energy a menace, or the future?

EV: Honestly, I never really thought much about nuclear energy until the recent tsunami and subsequent nuclear radiation leaks in Japan.  It was out of sight, out of mind.  I worried much more over the environmental costs of coal and petroleum.  Watching this recent crisis unfold, I’ve become convinced nuclear energy is too powerful a force for humans to manipulate.  Accelerating volatile atoms is a fearsome practice; we start unstoppable chain reactions and hope for the best.  And, nothing we can build can withstand the deep energy of our Earth, of the star we used to be.

WP: What do you want to accomplish with your blog?

EV: I started this blog to keep myself writing something, anything, after I graduated last December.  [I haven’t written a poem since grad school, which is troubling.]  Also I thought somehow it would help me get a job; this was, unfortunately, extremely naive.  My intention now is just to write because I love it, no more, no less.  If two people read this post and halfway like it, so much the better.

WP: If you could become invisible for a day, what would you do?

EV: I’d like to be invisible and ride a bike; you would see such wonderfully confused faces!  Maybe I’d sneak into someone’s house and rearrange the photos on their hearth; would they suddenly remember something long forgotten? Would they begin to believe in ghosts?  Then I would walk up into the mountains and watch many birds.   Might finally see a mountain lion.

About emvlovely

Oh, I live in an RV. I write poems, essays and prose. Thanks for reading my blog, good health to you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

